Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee’s charge is to identify and develop volunteer leadership to meet the needs of the Society’s vision, strategies, and programs, recommending Board slates and committee appointments to the Board for approval. The committee creates the annual election slate for Board position openings to support ASHG identified needs and goals. Identifies and recommends (to the President) members to serve on committees, enabling committees to execute Board-approved goals and foster a pipeline of potential society leaders. In all activities, seeks to ensure diversity, in all its forms, in leadership positions. Committee meets by telephone once or twice a year in the spring to conduct business for the Election ballot and committee nominations.

2022 Committee Members

  • Chair: Sharon Plon, MD/PhD, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD/PhD, Case Western Reserve University, ASHG Past, past president
  • Azeez Butali, DDS/DMD, University of Iowa
  • Aravinda Chakravarti, PhD, NYU School of Medicine
  • Dana Crawford, PhD, Case Western Reserve University
  • Harry Dietz, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Carla Easter, PhD, National Museum of Natural History
  • Poh-San Lai, PhD, National University of Singapore
  • Donna Martin, MD/PhD, Michigan Medicine, ASHG Secretary
  • Andrew McCallion, PhD, Johns Hopkins University
  • Mark Seielstad, PhD, University of California San Francisco
  • Joris Veltman, PhD, Newcastle University


Contact ASHG

ASHG uses cookies to provide you with a secure and custom web experience. Privacy Policy