Charles J. Epstein Trainee Awards for Excellence in Human Genetics Research

ASHG honors excellence in research conducted by predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees (including genetic counseling trainees) through merit-based awards that recognize highly competitive abstracts submitted and presented at the ASHG Annual Meeting. These awards were renamed in 2012 to honor the late Dr. Charles Epstein, who was a past president of ASHG, former editor of AJHG, and winner of both the William Allan Award and the McKusick Leadership Award. Currently, the total value of ASHG’s Trainee Awards is approximately $70,000 annually.

Abstract scoring is completed by the Program Committee, and about 60 top-ranking trainee-authored abstracts (semifinalists who receive $750 plus complimentary Annual Meeting registration) are submitted to the Awards Committee, which then selects 18 finalists (who receive an additional $250) prior to the Annual Meeting. Finalists’ presentations are judged by Awards Committee members at the Annual Meeting and six winners receive an additional $1,000 each.

Semifinalists and finalists are notified in July and August and may pick up their awards at the Annual Meeting. Otherwise, they will be sent their awards after the Annual Meeting (Note: We do not send awards early).

Past ASHG/Charles J. Epstein Trainee Awards for Excellence in Human Genetics Research Awardees

Nomination Requirements

Nominees can find the option to apply for the Epstein Awards in the abstract submission form.

Nominees must:

  • Be an ASHG member and not more than six years in postdoctoral training
  • Be the first author on a submitted abstract (to be considered, trainees must check the appropriate box when submitting their abstract)
  • Supply the name and email address of a nominator/mentor (the nominator must be able to verify the trainee’s work and must be a current ASHG member)

ASHG uses cookies to provide you with a secure and custom web experience. Privacy Policy