Composition and Tenure

The Social Issues Committee is comprised of eleven (11) members appointed for three (3)-year terms, with one-third (⅓) of the members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.


The Committee will recommend, and upon Board approval carry out, activities concerned with the impact of genetic knowledge and practice on society at large. Articles or statements produced by the committee that reflect a position of the Society must be approved by the Board of Directors.

Statements on clinical and societal applications of genetics

2019 Committee Members

Standing Committee

You can view full contact information using the ASHG Member Directory.

Jennifer K. Wagner, PhD, JD, Chair (2019)
Geisinger Health System
Cinnamon S. Bloss, PhD (2020)
University of California, San Diego
Kyle B. Brothers, MD/PhD (2019)
University of Louisville
Ed Esplin, MD (2021)
Nanibaa' A. Garrison, PhD (2020)
Seattle Children's Research Institute
Chris Gunter, PhD (2021)
Emory University School of Medicine
Leila Jamal, ScM, PhD (2019)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Amy A. Lemke, PhD, MS (2020)
NorthShore University HealthSystem
Jennifer B. McCormick, PhD (2019)
Penn State College of Medicine
Cathy Stein, PhD (2021)
Case Western Reserve University
Holly K. Tabor, PhD (2019)
Stanford University School of Medicine
Staff Liaison
Derek T. Scholes, PhD
Senior Director of Science Policy