Navigation Menu is only visible when JavaScript is enabled




Past Recipients



ASHG Announces 2016 Award Recipients


The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) congratulates the 2016 recipients of the Society’s six prestigious prizes in human genetics.

William Allan Award
Curt Stern Award
Arno Motulsky-Barton Childs Award for Excellence in Human Genetics Education
Victor A. McKusick Leadership Award
Advocacy Award

Mentorship Award

Charles J. Epstein Trainee Awards for Excellence in Human Genetics Research (view 2016 semifinalists and finalists)

The 2016 ASHG Awards will be presented to this year’s recipients during the 66th ASHG Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, October 18-22, 2016.


In addition, ASHG awarded 10 Developing Country Awards to individuals living in countries categorized by the World Bank as having low-income or lower-middle-income economies, who submitted abstracts to the ASHG 2016 Annual Meeting (view 2016 awardees).


This year’s honorees are listed below. Click on each image to learn more.


James Gusella, PhD Curt Stern, MD, PhD David Valle, MD Stanley Gartler, PhD

James Gusella, PhD
2016 William Allan Award

Brendan Lee, MD, PhD
2016 Curt Stern Award

David Valle, MD
2016 Education Award

Stanley Gartler, PhD
2016 McKusick Award

Senator James Cowan Bev Heim-Myers and CCGF Elaine Zackai, MD

Sen. James Cowan
2016 Advocacy Award

Bev Heim-Myers and CCGF
2016 Advocacy Award

Elaine Zackai, MD
2016 Mentorship Award