Navigation Menu is only visible when JavaScript is enabled
 
 

Mission & Vision

History

The American Journal of Human Genetics

Strategic Plan

Investment Policies

Bylaws

Board of Directors

Business Meeting Minutes

Society Staff

International Partnerships

Other Genetics Organizations

   

Committee Handbook

 

Committee Listings

 

Conflict of Interest Statement

 

Code of Ethics

 

Guidelines Applicable to all ASHG Committees

 

Representatives to Other Groups

 

Responsibilities of Officers

   
   
   

 



 

Information & Education Committee

 

 

Composition and Tenure

 

The ASHG Information and Education Committee shall comprise members appointed for three (3)-year terms, up to one-third (⅓) to be appointed each year. The Board shall determine the number of members based on the nature of the Society’s educational endeavors. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.

 

 

Mandate


The committee shall recommend, and upon Board approval carry out, activities concerned with information relevant to human genetics as it relates to the education of students in general, the education of professionals in human genetics, and the awareness of human genetics by the general public.


 

 

Activities

The Information and Education Committee (I&E) works on a variety of educational and training initiatives each year. To learn more about these activities, click here.

2017 Committee Members

Standing Committee

Bylaws specification: 9 members, 3-year terms, up to 3 new each year.

Jannine D. Cody, PhD Chair (2017)
Department of Pediatrics
University of Texas Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr
San Antonio, TX, 78229
T: (210) 567-9220
cody@uthscsa.edu
Elizabeth A. Balkite, MS (2017)
9 Lytham Lane
Durham, NC, 27707
T: (919) 403-0730
bethbalkite@me.com
June C. Carroll, MD (2019)
Family & Community Medicine
University of Toronto
60 Murray St 4th Floor Box 25
Toronto, ON, Canada, M5T3L9
T: (416) 586-5373
jcarroll@mtsinai.on.ca
Dawn Delozier, PhD,MS (2018)
Genetic Medicine
Saint Agnes Cancer Center
7130 N. Millbrook, suite 112
Fresno, CA, 93710
T: (559) 450-5598
cddelozier@gmail.com
John P. Doucet, PhD (2017)
College of Arts & Sciences
Nicholls State University
127 Peliter Hall
Thibodaux, LA, 70310
T: (985) 448-4721
john.doucet@nicholls.edu
Marnie E. Gelbart, PhD (2017)
Personal Genetics Education Project/ Genetics
Harvard Medical School
77 Avenue Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA, 02115
T: (617) 432-1797
mgelbart@pged.med.harvard.edu
Monica A. Giovanni, MS (2017)
Department of Genomic Medicine
Geisinger Health System
100 North Academy Dr.
Danville, PA, 17821
T: (617) 359-1159
monica.giovanni@gmail.com
Maurice Godfrey, PhD (2018)
Munroe-Meyer Institute
University of Nebraska Medical Center
985450 Nebraska Med Ctr
Omaha, NE, 68198-5450
T: (402) 559-6689
mgodfrey@unmc.edu
Dina L. Newman, PhD (2018)
Gosnell School of Life Sciences
Rochester Institute of Technology
85 Lomb Memorial Dr.
Rochester, NY, 14623
T: (585) 475-4482
dina.newman@rit.edu
Alexis Norris, PhD (2019)
Kennedy Krieger Institute
707 N. Broadway
Baltimore, MD, 21205
T: (717) 873-4428
alexisleighnorris@gmail.com
Tuya Pal, MD (2019)
CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute, Inc.
12902 Magnolia Drive
Tampa, FL, 33612
T: (813) 745-3322
tuya.pal@moffitt.org
ex officio
Michael J. Dougherty, PhD
Director of Education
ASHG
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: (301) 634-7304
mdougherty@ash.org
 

The American Society of Human Genetics, Incorporated

9650 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20814

society@ashg.org 1-866-HUM-GENE (301) 634-7300

Privacy Policy