Navigation Menu is only visible when JavaScript is enabled

Mission & Vision


The American Journal of Human Genetics

Strategic Plan

Investment Policies


Board of Directors

Business Meeting Minutes

Society Staff

International Partnerships

Other Genetics Organizations


Committee Handbook


Committee Listings


Conflict of Interest Statement


Code of Ethics


Guidelines Applicable to all ASHG Committees


Representatives to Other Groups


Responsibilities of Officers






The American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) was established in 1948 to provide leadership in research, education and service in human genetics. Accordingly it elected to publish The American Journal of Human Genetics and sponsor an annual research meeting. The Journal has maintained a prominent role in the publishing world, with an impact factor of around 12. The Annual Meeting has grown to have an attendance of 6000 or more each year. The human genetics community grew and spawned a new field of endeavor, genetic counseling, to support delivery of clinical genetics services. In 1979, the National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) was formed as the advocacy group for genetic counseling. By 1981, the need for the establishment of a certification board was recognized by ASHG and the American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG) was founded. This Board certifies medical genetics practitioners, clinical laboratory geneticists throughout the United States. In 1991, this Board was recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) to certify doctoral level medical genetics practitioners and clinical laboratory geneticists. Also in 1991, the Masters degree level genetic counselors then formed an independent certification board, known as the American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC). The most recent addition to the family of human genetics organizations is the Association of Professors of Medical/Human Genetics (APHMG), which was incorporated in 1995.

With the burgeoning development of new and complex clinical genetic services and genetic testing which occurred in the 1980's, the need for the establishment of an independent body to represent the clinical practitioners of medical and laboratory genetics became evident. The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) and the American College of Medical Genetics Foundation (ACMGF) were established and incorporated in 1991. In January 1993, the ACMG was accorded full membership in the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and is now the recognized body representing doctoral level laboratory and clinical practitioners of medical genetics in the United States.

ASHG is an active member of the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology (FASEB), a coalition of 24 professional societies representing over 100,000 scientists. FASEB provides policy support/expertise and additional infrastructure for member societies. ASHG is also a member of the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS) of AAMC, the Institute of Medicine Roundtable on Translating Genomic-Based Research for Health, the Inter-Society Coordinating Committee for Practitioner Education in Genomics (NHGRI), and the International Federation of Human Genetics Societies (IFHGS).


Read "Recollection from ASHG Meetings" published in AJHG, Nov 2010.


ASHG Presidents, 1949-2017

Names printed in blue typeface are linked to their addresses given at the ASHG Annual Meeting

1949 H. J. Muller 1984 David L. Rimoin
1950 Laurence Snyder 1985 Frank Ruddle
1951 Lee R. Dice 1986 Charles Scriver
1952 F. J. Kallmann 1987 Stanley Gartler
1953 Clarence Oliver 1988 David E. Comings
1954 James Neel 1989 L. L. Cavalli-Sforza
1955 C. Nash Herndon 1990 C. Thomas Caskey
1956 S. C. Reed 1991 Michael M. Kaback
1957 Curt Stern 1992 Walter E. Nance
1958 W. D. Boyd 1993 Janet D. Rowley
1959 Madge Macklin 1994 Maimon M. Cohen
1960 C. C. Li 1995 Judith Hall
1961 L. C. Dunn 1996 Charles Epstein
1962 F. Clarke Fraser 1997 Larry Shapiro
1963 James F. Crow 1998 Arthur Beaudet
1964 Arthur Steinberg 1999 Uta Francke
1965 Howard Newcombe 2000 Ronald Worton
1966 Philip Levine 2001 Huntington F. Willard
1967 Bentley Glass 2002 Michael Conneally
1968 Irene Uchida 2003 David Valle
1969 Kurt Hirschhorn 2004 Robert Nussbaum*
1970 William Schull 2005 Peter H. Byers
1971 Alexander Bearn 2006 Stephen T. Warren
1972 John Graham 2007 Wylie Burke
1973 Eloise Giblett 2008 Aravinda Chakravarti
1974 Victor McKusick 2009 Edward McCabe
1975 John Hamerton 2010 Roderick R. McInnes [PDF]
1976 Barton Childs


Lynn Jorde [PDF]

1977 Arno Motulsky


Mary-Claire King [PDF]

1978 Alfred Knudson 2013 Jeffrey C. Murray [PDF]
1979 Eldon Sutton 2014 Cynthia C. Morton [PDF]
1980 Leon Rosenberg 2015 Neil Risch [PDF]
1981 Barbara Bowman 2016 Hal Dietz [PDF]
1982 Margery W. Shaw 2017   Nancy J. Cox
1983 John Littlefield    


*Serving in a personal capacity and not as a representative of NIH. 



The American Society of Human Genetics, Incorporated

9650 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20814 1-866-HUM-GENE (301) 634-7300

Privacy Policy