2013 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award
of The Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation

Click here to apply online for the Rosalind Franklin Award. The application deadline is June 8, 2012.

To honor the ground-breaking contributions of Dr. Rosalind Franklin in genetics research and to inspire and support new generations of women in the field, the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation will fund two career development research awards of $75,000 each to be given over three years ($25,000 per year) to two female geneticists from anywhere in the world, who are in their first three years of an independent faculty-level position in any area of genetics. One award will fund genetics research in human and non-human mammals and the other will fund genetics research in model organisms. Young female geneticists from any country worldwide are welcome to apply. The award may be used for any purpose that advances the genetics research of the recipients except for salary support of the recipients themselves.

The application deadline is Friday, June 8, 2012. Applicants must also include a Curriculum Vita and two letters of recommendation.

The awards are administered and the recipients are chosen every three years by a joint committee appointed by the Genetics Society of America (GSA), and the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG).

Previous award recipients include:
  • 2010, Jue D. Wang, Associate Professor, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston,Texas.
  • 2010, Iiris Hovatta, Associate Professor, University of Helsinki, Finland.
  • 2007, Molly Przeworski, Associate Professor, Department of Human Genetics and Department of Ecology and Evolution, University of Chicago, Illinois.
  • 2004, Amy E. Pasquinelli, Assistant Professor of Biology, University of California, San Diego.

Both the GSA and the ASHG encourage applications from women scientists world-wide.

2012 Review Committee Members*:
Mary-Claire King, PhD, University of Washington, Seattle
Molly Przeworksi, PhD, University of Chicago, Illinois
Janet D. Rowley, MD, PhD, University of Chicago, Illinois
Cynthia Morton, PhD, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts
Sally Camper, PhD, University of Michigan, Michigan
Iiris Hovetta, PhD, University of Helsinki, Finland
Model Organisms:
Jue D. Wang, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas
Amy Pasquinelli, PhD, University of California, San Diego
Mary Lou Guerinot, PhD, Dartmouth College, New Hampshire
Trudy F. C. Mackay, PhD, North Carolina State University, Raleigh
Ruth Lehmann, PhD, New York University School of Medicine, New York
* This committee may be expanded at some future time.

Recipients will be notified of their award in July 2012. The recipients will be announced at the 62nd ASHG Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California on Friday, November 9, 2012 in conjunction with the Gruber award ceremony, and will be invited to present during one of the sessions at the meeting. The model organism winner will also be recognized at an appropriate GSA conference.

Please see the FAQ page, listed here.

If you have questions about submitting your application, please contact:
Beth Ruedi, PhD
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814
Tel: 301-634-7371
Fax: 301-634-7079