Composition and Tenure

The Training & Development Committee shall comprise eight (8) members, at least six (6) of whom must hold trainee membership status at any given time. One (1) member of the ASHG staff will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee, without voting rights. No member of the committee will serve a term of longer than three (3) years. All members must be approved by the ASHG Board of Directors.

Mandate

The Committee shall recommend, and upon approval by the Board of Directors, carry out activities concerned with the training and career development of ASHG members, with a special focus on those with trainee status. The committee will serve as a liaison between trainees and the ASHG Board of Directors.

2017 Committee Members


Monika H.M. Schmidt, BS or BA Chair (2017)
Molecular Genetics/Genetics & Genome Biology
University of Toronto/The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay St.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada, M5G 0A4
T: (416) 813-8170
monika.schmidt@sickkids.ca
Burcu F. Darst, BS or BA (2019)
Department of Population Health Sciences
University of Wisconsin, Madison
610 Walnut Street, 1007 WARF
Madison, WI, 53726
T: (608) 265-0898
bdarst@wisc.edu
Emily Davenport, PhD (2019)
Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Cornell University
101 Biotechnology
Ithaca, NY, 14853
ed379@cornell.edu
Douglas Franklin Dluzen, PhD (2018)
National Institute on Aging
251 Bayview Blvd.
Baltimore, MD, 21224
T: (410) 558-8454
douglas.dluzen@nih.gov
Sangwoo Han, MS (2019)
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
733 N. Broadway
Baltimore, MD, 21205
T: (410) 955-4260
shan49@jhmi.edu
Julie Jurgens, BS or BA (2017)
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
733 N. Broadway
Baltimore, MD, 21205
T: (410) 614-2577
jjurgen2@jhmi.edu
Christoph Nowak, MD,MS,BS or BA (2018)
Medical Sciences Department, Molecular Epidemiology
Uppsala University
Box 1115
Uppsala, Sweden, 75141
T: +46704250898
christoph.nowak@medsci.uu.se
Lauren C. Tindale, BS or BA (2018)
BC Cancer Agency
675 West 10th Ave
Vancouver, Canada, V5Z 1L3
T: (604) 675-8150
ltindale@bcgsc.ca
ex officio
Kanika Pulliam, PhD
Educational Programs Manager
ASHG
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: (301) 634-7326
kpulliam@ashg.org