Composition and Tenure

The Social Issues Committee shall comprise ten (10) members appointed for three (3)-year terms, with one-third (⅓) of the members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.

Mandate

The Committee shall recommend, and upon Board approval carry out, activities concerned with the impact of genetic knowledge and practice on society at large. Articles or statements produced by the committee that reflect a position of the Society must be approved by the Board of Directors.

Statements on clinical and societal applications of genetics

2017 Committee Members

Standing Committee

Bylaws specification: 10 members appointed for 3-year terms, up to 3 new each year.


Yvonne Bombard, PhD Chair (2017)
Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St Michael's Hospital
University of Toronto
30 Bond Street
Toronto, Ontario, Canada, M5B 1W8
T: (416) 864-6060 x77378
yvonne.bombard@utoronto.ca
Kyle B. Brothers, MD,PhD (2019)
Department of Pediatrics
University of Louisville
231 East Chestnut Street, N-97
Louisville, KY, 40202
T: (502) 588-0797
kyle.brothers@louisville.edu
Nanibaa' A. Garrison, PhD (2017)
Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics
Seattle Children's Hospital
1900 Ninth Avenue
Seattle, WA, 98101
T: (650) 283-3522
nanibaa@uw.edu
Leila Jamal, MS, PhD (2019)
Berman Institute of Bioethics
1809 Ashland Avenue
Baltimore, MD, 21205
T: (347) 327-0104
ljamal2@jhu.edu
Howard P. Levy, MD, PhD (2018)
Department of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
10753 Falls Rd, Ste 325
Baltimore, MD, 21093
T: (410) 583-2774
hlevy3@jhmi.edu
Jennifer B. McCormick, PhD,Other (2019)
Department of Humanities
Penn State College of Medicine
500 University Drive
Hershey, PA, 17033
T: (717) 531-8778
jbm44@psu.edu
James C. O'Leary (2018)
Genetic Alliance
4301 Connecticut Ave NW #404
Washington, DC, 20008-2369
T: (202) 966-5557
joleary@geneticalliance.org
Kelly E. Ormond, MS, CGC (2017)
Human Genetics/Genetic Counseling
Stanford University
300 Pasteur Dr, H315
Stanford, CA, 94305-5208
T: (650) 736-9847
kormond@stanford.edu
Holly K. Tabor, PhD (2019)
Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University School of Medicine
1215 Welch Rd., Mod A
Stanford, CA, 94306
T: (650) 498-5305
hktabor@stanford.edu
Jennifer K. Wagner, JD, PhD (2018)
Center for Translational Bioethics and Health Care Policy
Geisinger Health System
100 North Academy Ave
Danville, PA, 17822
T: (570) 214-3774
jwagner1@geisinger.edu
ex officio
Derek T. Scholes, PhD
Director of Science Policy
ASHG
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: (301) 634-7330
dscholes@ashg.org