Composition and Tenure

The Social Issues Committee shall comprise ten (10) members appointed for three (3)-year terms, with one-third (⅓) of the members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.

Mandate

The Committee shall recommend, and upon Board approval carry out, activities concerned with the impact of genetic knowledge and practice on society at large. Articles or statements produced by the committee that reflect a position of the Society must be approved by the Board of Directors.

Statements on clinical and societal applications of genetics

2018 Committee Members

Standing Committee

Bylaws specification: 10 members appointed for 3-year terms, up to 3 new each year.


Jennifer K. Wagner, PhD, JD Chair (2018)
Center for Translational Bioethics and Health Care Policy
Geisinger Health System
100 North Academy Ave
Danville, PA  17822
T: (570) 214-3774
jwagner1@geisinger.edu
Cinnamon S. Bloss, PhD (2020)
Psychiatry/Family Medicine & Public Health
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive MC0896
La Jolla, CA  92093-0896
T: (858) 534-9595
cbloss@ucsd.edu
Kyle B. Brothers, MD/PhD (2019)
Department of Pediatrics
University of Louisville
231 East Chestnut Street, N-97
Louisville, KY  40202 
T: (502) 588-0797
kyle.brothers@louisville.edu
Nanibaa' A. Garrison, PhD (2020)
Treuman Katz Center for Pediatric Bioethics
Seattle Children's Research Institute
1900 Ninth Avenue
Seattle, WA  98101
T: (650) 283-3522
nanibaa@uw.edu
Leila Jamal, ScM, PhD (2019)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Building 10, Room 11C207
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-1892
T: (301) 761-6266
leila.jamal@nih.gov
Amy A. Lemke, PhD (2020)
Center for Personalized Medecine
North Shore University Health System
2657 Reese Avenue
Evanston, WI  60201 
T: (224) 364-7567
lemkeaa@gmail.com
Howard P. Levy, MD, PhD (2018)
Department of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University
10753 Falls Rd, Ste 325
Baltimore, MD, 21093
T: (410) 583-2774
hlevy3@jhmi.edu
Jennifer B. McCormick, PhD (2019)
Department of Humanities
Penn State College of Medicine
500 University Drive
Hershey, PA, 17033
T: (717) 531-8778
jbm44@psu.edu
James C. O'Leary (2018)
Genetic Alliance
4301 Connecticut Ave NW #404
Washington, DC, 20008-2369
T: (202) 966-5557
joleary@geneticalliance.org
Holly K. Tabor, PhD (2019)
Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University School of Medicine
1215 Welch Rd., Mod A
Stanford, CA, 94306
T: (650) 498-5305
hktabor@stanford.edu
ex officio
Derek T. Scholes, PhD
Senior Director of Science Policy
ASHG
6120 Executive Boulevard, Suite 500
Rockville, MD 20852
T: (301) 634-7330
dscholes@ashg.org