Composition and Tenure

The ASHG Information and Education Committee shall comprise members appointed for three (3)-year terms, up to one-third (⅓) to be appointed each year. The Board shall determine the number of members based on the nature of the Society’s educational endeavors. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.


The committee shall recommend, and upon Board approval carry out, activities concerned with information relevant to human genetics as it relates to the education of students in general, the education of professionals in human genetics, and the awareness of human genetics by the general public.


The Information and Education Committee (I&E) works on a variety of educational and training initiatives each year. To learn more about these activities, click here.

2018 Committee Members

Standing Committee

Bylaws specification: 9 members, 3-year terms, up to 3 new each year.

Jannine D. Cody, PhD Chair (2019)
Department of Pediatrics
University of Texas Health Science Center
7703 Floyd Curl Dr
San Antonio, TX, 78229
T: (210) 567-9220
June C. Carroll, MD (2019)
Family & Community Medicine
University of Toronto
60 Murray St 4th Floor Box 25
Toronto, ON, Canada, M5T3L9
T: (416) 586-5373
Dawn Delozier, PhD, MS (2018)
Genetic Medicine
Saint Agnes Cancer Center
7130 N. Millbrook, suite 112
Fresno, CA, 93710
T: (559) 450-5598
Marnie E. Gelbart, PhD (2020)
Personal Genetics Education Project/ Genetics
Harvard Medical School
77 Avenue Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA, 02115
T: (617) 432-1797
Monica A. Giovanni, MS (2020)
Department of Genomic Medicine
Geisinger Health System
100 North Academy Dr.
Danville, PA, 17821
T: (617) 359-1159
Maurice Godfrey, PhD (2018)
Munroe-Meyer Institute
University of Nebraska Medical Center
985450 Nebraska Med Ctr
Omaha, NE, 68198-5450
T: (402) 559-6689
Dina L. Newman, PhD (2018)
Gosnell School of Life Sciences
Rochester Institute of Technology
85 Lomb Memorial Dr.
Rochester, NY, 14623
T: (585) 475-4482
Alexis Norris, PhD (2019)
Kennedy Krieger Institute
707 N. Broadway
Baltimore, MD, 21205
T: (717) 873-4428
Tuya Pal, MD (2019)
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute, Inc.
12902 Magnolia Drive
Tampa, FL, 33612
T: (813) 745-3322
ex officio
Kanika Pulliam, PhD
Senior Manager, Education & Career Development Programs
6120 Executive Boulevard, Suite 500
Rockville, MD 20852
T: (301) 634-7326