Composition and Tenure

The ASHG Communications Committee shall comprise a maximum of twelve (12) members who reflect a diverse cross-section of the Society’s membership, e.g., research scientists, clinicians, genetic counselors, trainee members, and public relations representatives from other genetics organizations. The committee members will serve three (3)-year terms, with approximately one-third (1/3) of members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.

Mandate

The ASHG Communications Committee shall provide feedback and recommendations to the staff and Board of Directors and shall participate in the development of online and print materials, social media activities, key messages, and strategic planning for ASHG’s communication/public relations programs and initiatives, including press events, and media outreach. 

The Committee’s activities shall promote awareness of human genetics and the Society’s role in the field among the media, the general public, and genetics professionals.

2018 Committee Members


Kathryn Garber, PhD Chair (2020)
Department of Human Genetics
Emory University School of Medicine
615 Michael St, Rm 301
Atlanta, GA, 30322-3050
T: (404) 712-9985
kgarbe2@emory.edu
Jennifer Elizabeth Below, PhD (2020)
The Vanderbilt Genetics Institute
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
2215 Garland Ave
Houston, TN  37232 
T:(510) 289-2578
jennifer.e.below@vanderbilt.edu
Robin L. Bennett, MS (2018)
Department of Medicine, Division of Medical Genetics
University of Washington
Box 357720
Seattle, WA, 98195-7720
T: (206) 598-8408
robinb@u.washington.edu
Emily Glassberg, BS/BA (2018)
Department of Biology
Stanford University
Serra Mall
Stanford, CA, 94305
T: (248) 797-6202
eglassbe@stanford.edu
Erika Check Hayden, BS/BA (2020)
UC Santa Cruz
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
T: (415) 403-9025
ehayden@ucsc.edu
Nicole Litchfield, BS/BA (2018)
Public Relations
Bioscribe
102 Edison Ave
Corte Madera, CA, 94925
T: (415) 891-3941
nicole@bioscribe.com
Maurissa Messier, BS/BA (2020)
Synthetic Genomics
11149 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037
T: (908) 208-9254
mmessier@syntheticgenomics.com
Oleg Shchelochkov, MD (2019)
Genetics and Molecular Biology Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute
49 Convent Drive, Building 49, Room 3A04
Bethesda, MD, 20892
T: (301) 435-2944
oleg.shchelochkov@nih.gov
Staff Advisor
Nalini Padmanabhan, MPH
Director of Communications and Marketing
ASHG
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998
T: (301) 634-7346
npadmanabhan@ashg.org