Composition and Tenure

The ASHG Communications Committee shall comprise a maximum of twelve (12) members who reflect a diverse cross-section of the Society’s membership, e.g., research scientists, clinicians, genetic counselors, trainee members, and public relations representatives from other genetics organizations. The committee members will serve three (3)-year terms, with approximately one-third (1/3) of members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member of the committee may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.


The ASHG Communications Committee shall provide feedback and recommendations to the staff and Board of Directors and shall participate in the development of online and print materials, social media activities, key messages, and strategic planning for ASHG’s communication/public relations programs and initiatives, including press events, and media outreach. 

The Committee’s activities shall promote awareness of human genetics and the Society’s role in the field among the media, the general public, and genetics professionals.

You can view full contact information using the ASHG Member Directory.

2018 Committee Members

Kathryn Garber, PhD, Chair (2020)
Emory University School of Medicine
Jennifer Elizabeth Below, PhD (2020)
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Robin L. Bennett, MS (2018)
University of Washington
Marina DiStefano, PhD (2021) - incoming 2019
University of Washington
John Doucet, PhD (2021)- incoming 2019
Nicholls State University
Emily Glassberg, BS/BA (2018)
Stanford University
Kathryn Hall, PhD, MPH (2021) - incoming 2019
Brigham & Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Erika Check Hayden, BS/BA (2020)
UC Santa Cruz
Nicole Litchfield, BS/BA (2018)
Maurissa Messier, BS/BA (2020)
Synthetic Genomics
Oleg Shchelochkov, MD (2019)
National Human Genome Research Institute
Staff Advisor
Nalini Padmanabhan, MPH
Director of Communications and Marketing