Composition and Tenure

The ASHG Awards Committee shall comprise six (6) members appointed for three (3)-year terms, with one-third (⅓) of the members rotating off the committee each year, to be replaced by new appointments. No member may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms. The President shall be an ex-officio member of this committee, with voting rights.

Mandate

The Committee shall recommend the recipients of the Society’s awards to the Board of Directors for approval.

 View Award Overviews

2018 Committee Members


Fowzan S. Alkuraya, MD Chair (2019)
Department of Genetics
King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre
MBC-03 PO BOX 3354
Riyadh, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, 11211
T: +966114427875
falkuraya@kfshrc.edu.sa
Uta Francke, , MD (2020)
Dept Genetics
Stanford Univ Med Ctr
300 Pasteur Drive, Alway 32
Stanford, CA  94305-5120 
650) 941-6921
ufrancke@stanford.edu
Ha Eun Kong, BS/BA (2020)
Human Genetics
Emory University
615 Michael St
Atlanta, GA  30322 
T:(609) 865-57378
haeun.kong@emory.edu
Charles Lee, PhD (2019)
The Jackson Laboratory Institute for Genomic Medicine
10 Discovery Drive
Farmington, CT, 06032
T: (860) 837-2458
Charles.Lee@jax.org
Naomichi Matsumoto , MD/PhD (2020)
Dept Hum Genet
Yokohama City Univ Grad Sch Med
Fukuura 3-9, Kanazawa-ku
Yokohama, Kanagawa
Japan  2360004
T: 81 45-787-2604
naomat@yokohama-cu.ac.jp
Katie Rudd, PhD (2018)
Center for Molecular Biology and Pathology
Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings
1904 TW Alexander Drive
Research Triangle Park, NC, 27709
T: (919) 361-7755
ruddm2@labcorp.com
Jay A. Shendure, MD/PhD (2019)
Genome Sciences
University of Washington
3720 15th Ave NE, S250 - Foege Bldg South
Seattle, WA, 98195-5065
T: (206) 685-8543
shendure@u.washington.edu
Shamil Sunyaev, PhD (2020)
Div Gen, Dept Med
Brigham & Women's Hosp
77 Ave Louis Pasteur
Boston, MA 02115
T: (857) 998-0167
ssunyaev@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Michael E. Talkowski, PhD (2018)
Center for Human Genetics Research
Harvard Medical School
185 Cambridge St CPZN5400
Boston, MA, 02114
T: (617) 643-3097
talkowski@chgr.mgh.harvard.edu
Gert-Jan B. Van Ommen, PhD (2020)
Department of Human Genetics
Leiden University Medical Center
PO Box 9600, Zone S4P
Leiden
T: 31 0-71-5269400
gjvo@lumc.nl
Xinchen Wang, PhD (2020)
Columbia University
630 W 168th St, Room 11-430
New York, NY  10032
T: (617) 835-0237
xw2553@cumc.columbia.edu
David L. Nelson, PhD, BS/BA (2018)
BCM Department of Human Molecular Genetics
Duncan Neurological Research Institute
1250 Moursund Street, Suite 1050.18
Houston, TX  77030-3410 
T: (832) 824-8160
nelson@bcm.edu