Page 129 - ASHG 2012 Annual Meeting Program Guide

Taking photographs or sound recordings in all meeting rooms is strictly prohibited. Thank you for your cooperation.
Saturday, November 10
SESSION 70 – AJHG C.W. Cotterman Awards
Hall D, Lower Level North, Moscone Center
David L. Nelson, Editor,
The American
Journal of Human Genetics
Baylor Col. of Med
Each September, the editorial board of
The American
Journal of Human Genetics
elects two articles
published in the journal in the previous year that best
represent outstanding scientific contributions to the
field of human genetics. Two Cotterman Awards are
given annually. Monetary awards of $1000 and a
certificate will be presented to the recipients for the
top two papers published in the Journal during the
previous year on which the first author was either a
pre- or post- doctoral trainee and an ASHG member.
Saturday, November 10
SESSION 71 – ASHG Charles J. Epstein Trainee Awards
for Excellence in Human Genetics Research:
Announcement of Winners
Hall D, Lower Level North, Moscone Center
C. E. Pearson, Awards Committee Chair
Hosp. for Sick Children
ASHG honors excellence in research conducted by
predoctoral and postdoctoral trainees, including
genetic counseling trainees, through merit-based
awards that recognize highly competitive abstracts
submitted for the Annual Meeting. These awards were
renamed in 2012 to honor the late Dr. Charles Epstein.
Semifinalists were selected based on abstract
score and awarded complimentary registration plus
$750 each. Of those semifinalists, 18 finalists (selected
by the Awards Committee) received an additional
$250. The finalists’ presentations were reviewed by the
ASHG Awards Committee and volunteer judges during
the Annual Meeting.
Six winners announced today will receive an additional
$1000 each.
Members of the Awards Committee are Christopher
Pearson, Chair; Goncalo Abecasis, Georgia Dunston,
Maximilian Muenke, Pragna Patel, Sharon Plon.