Page 119 - ASHG 2012 Annual Meeting Program Guide

Taking photographs or sound recordings in all meeting rooms is strictly prohibited. Thank you for your cooperation.
Friday, November 9
SESSION 56, continued)
into the molecular genetic basis of human health and
disease, offered a new perspective on the neutralist-
selectionist debate, and provided an explanation for
the force that drives the evolution of
complex biological forms.
The Gruber Genetics Prize has been presented
annually since 2001. Laureates are: Rudolf Jaenisch,
H. Robert Horvitz, David Botstein, Mary-Claire King,
Robert H. Waterston, Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Maynard
V. Olson, Allan C. Spradling, Janet Davison Rowley,
Gerald Fink, Ronald Davis.
Nominations for the 2013 Prize are currently open. The
deadline is December 15, 2012. For further information
Every three years, the Peter and Patricia
Gruber Foundation presents the Rosalind Franklin Young
Investigator Awards to two young women geneticists.
One award is for research in genetics of humans and
other mammals, and one award is for research in
genetics of other model organisms. The awards are for
career development and are $75,000 over three years.
Winners of the Rosalind Franklin Award are in their first
three years in an independent faculty level position
in any area of genetics. The winners are selected by
a committee of women geneticists, including former
winners of the award. The recipients of the 2013–2015
Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Awards are:
Valerie Horsley, PhD,
Assistant Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and
Developmental Biology at Yale University, for her
studies of the epithelial stem cell niche delineated by
mouse genetic models;
Mary Gehring, PhD,
Member of the Whitehead Institute and Assistant
Professor of Biology at MIT, for her studies of
imprinting and epigenetic regulation in Arabidopsis.
Other finalists were Genevieve Konopka, PhD,
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience at UT
Southwestern and Avital Rodal, PhD, Assistant
Professor of Biology at Brandeis University.
Friday, November 9
SESSION 57 – ASHG William Allan Award Presentation
Hall D, Lower Level North, Moscone Center
The William Allan Award is presented annually by
ASHG to recognize substantial and far-reaching
scientific contributions to human and medical
genetics, carried out over a lifetime of scientific inquiry
and productivity.
Tayfun Özcelik
Bilkent Univ., Ankara, Turkey
Uta Francke, MD
Prof. Em., Stanford Univ. Med. Ctr.
Dr. Francke was chosen for her outstanding and
tireless contributions to human and medical genetics
fields, for her major impact on the study of many
human disorders, for the breadth and depth of her
applications of chromosomal analyses and molecular
studies, and for her innovative uses of mouse models
for understanding human genetic disease. The award
recognizes her seminal work which extends back to
the early days of medical and human genetics and
includes more than 500 peer-reviewed publications.
Among Francke’s exemplary achievements are
advances in understanding Charcot-Marie-Tooth,
Marfan, Rett, Prader-Willi, Williams, and Wiskott-
Aldrich syndromes, which have had a major impact
on the studying and treatment of these disorders.
In essence, her lifetime of scientific discoveries and
numerous contributions to the field over the decades
have been far-reaching and have made a significant
impact on advancing both basic and clinical human
genetics. Dr. Francke has been one of the most
respected scientists in the genetics community and is
a stellar example of a tireless scientist, always seeking
answers to important questions that interested her.
Past Recipients: John Opitz (2011); Jurg Ott (2010);
Hunt Willard (2009); Haig Kazazian (2008); Arthur
Beaudet (2007); Dorothy Warburton (2006); Francis
Collins (2005); Louis Kunkel (2004); David Weatherall
Albert de La Chapelle (2002); Charles Epstein
Stephen Warren (1999); Bert Vogelstein
Philip Leder (1997); Robert Elston (1996);
Kurt Hirschhorn (1995); Douglas Wallace (1994);
Antonio Cao & Michael Kaback (1993); Alec Jeffreys
Janet Rowley & Alfred Knudson (1991); Kary
Mullis (1990); David Bostein & Ray White (1989); T.
Caspersson (1988); L. L. Cavalli-Sforza (1987); Mary
Lyon (1986); Joseph Goldstein & Michael Brown
Y. W. Kan (1984); Frank Ruddle (1983);